FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Gestion de Portefeuille Stratégique Medici is registered with the AMF as a portfolio manager and investment fund manager. Our main responsibility is to develop quality portfolios tailored to both the financial goals of our clients and to the level of risk each client is comfortable with.

Medici also follows the Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct from the CFA Institute, which is the ethical benchmark for investment professionals, and which stipulates that we must place the integrity of the profession and the interests of our clients before those of Medici, its portfolio managers, or its employees.

Medici has partnered with the National Bank Independent Network (NBIN inc.), a wholly-owned subsidiary of National Bank of Canada, which acts as Medici’s trustee and portfolio administrator. As a result, client accounts are opened with NBIN inc. and clients are the only ones who can withdraw money from their own account. Medici’s portfolio managers are only authorized to purchase and sell securities for you, according to the agreed mandate; they do not have control over amounts withdrawn or deposited in your accounts.

NBIN inc. has operated within the financial services sector for over 25 years and is now Canada’s leading provider of custody, trade execution, and brokerage solutions to independent wealth management firms, services for brokers, and independently registered portfolio managers. NBIN serves over 400 firms from coast to coast, all of which benefit from the financial security of the National Bank of Canada (NBC). NBIN is a division of National Bank Financial Inc. (NBF Inc.), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the National Bank of Canada (NBC), which is a publically traded company on the Toronto Stock Exchange (NA: TSX). The National Bank Independent Network trademark is owned by NBC and used under license by NBF Inc., which is a member of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF), and is also a member of and subjected to the Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC), a national self-regulatory surveillance organization for all dealer firms and any trading activity on Canadian equity marketplaces.

MEDICI manages the portfolios of its clients in a discretionary way. This means that during our first meeting together, we will work with you on defining an Investment Policy Statement that our team will agree to follow during our entire business relationship. Our investment decisions will then be made according to this Investment Policy Statement.

We are never under the obligation to contact our clients or receive their authorization before completing a transaction. In this way, we are fully accountable for the management of client portfolios. For the same reason that an engineer wouldn’t ask a client if the pillar he plans on using is strong enough to support a building, we believe that we are the best people to make the necessary decisions to manage your portfolio.

This management style means that it is our responsibility to act transparently and honestly with all our clients. As a result, our portfolio managers frequently communicate our strategy and our decisions during in-person meetings, in our quarterly letters, in video presentations, and in our frequent media appearances. Although our clients do not choose the content of their portfolios, we provide them with all the tools they need to evaluate the quality of our work.

Our fees are based on a percentage of assets under management. Our rate varies depending on the size of your portfolio. Please contact us for more information.

Since our role is both that of financial advisor and portfolio manager, and since we offer a true private management service, our fees are much lower than those charged by advisors who sell mutual funds.

We do not charge any trailer fees or commission per transaction, nor does Medici bill any front loaded or back ended fees. There are no hidden fees. The only fees we charge are paid monthly, and these fees are totally transparent since they can be found on your investment statement. Each year, we provide you with an annual report outlining your fees and your returns, which allows you to compare the fees you paid with the added value that we provided through our work.

On average, our clients invest more than $1 million with us. We accept investors who have a minimum of $500,000 to invest, or who are in an asset accumulation phase. We invite you to contact us to know if you are eligible. We will evaluate your financial situation, explain our selection criterias, and make you an offer if you are eligible.

Medici partners with one of the major Canadian banks (National Bank Independent Network) as its trustee, which guarantees the security of our client accounts. By choosing Medici to manage your portfolio, you benefit from the same security measures as those offered by any large Canadian financial institution.

As for their investment and wealth management services, many large financial institutions follow a standard of convenience. They don’t feel that it’s necessary to make decisions based on the best interest of their clients. This practice tends to promote short-term financial goals that benefit the financial institution itself, and not the interests of the client.

By choosing Medici to manage your assets, you will benefit from a team of professionals who act as your trustee instead of following the standard of convenience of large financial institutions. We make our decisions based on your interests, which are always more important than those of the firm or our managers. We do not sell any financial products, we personally invest in the same companies that we purchase for our clients, and our fees are based on a percentage of your assets—therefore, our interests are entirely aligned with yours.

Yes, in addition to managing all of a person’s accounts, we can manage the entirety of a family portfolio (spouse and children). We also manage company accounts for entrepreneurs, self-employed workers, doctors, and other managers.

Our older clients often like to meet with us with their children and spouse, which provides them with an opportunity to pass down notions about savings and investments to their family, while ensuring the stability of their assets when the time for succession comes.

Our team is composed of five portfolio managers, two financial advisors, and several management and administrative assistants. Our portfolio managers conduct their own research and written analyses, which are submitted to our investment committee for review every week. Please take a look at our “About” section for more information.

As we enact our investment strategy and purchase stocks, we select companies that are profitable and come with sustainable competitive advantages. For example, the majority of companies we invest in have a very low debt level, and often no debt at all. The companies we choose must be able to resist crises and recessions, since they are unavoidable.

On our website, you will find the average returns for our clients with portfolios composed of 100% common stocks. Depending on your investment profile, having 100% of your assets invested in common stocks might not be appropriate. This is the case for many of our clients, who therefore own both stocks and fixed income securities. By entrusting Medici with the management of your portfolio, you enter into a relationship with professionals who will take the time to evaluate your tolerance to risk and determine the asset allocation that is appropriate for your personal situation.

For instance, our managers tend not to invest money that will need to be withdrawn in the next five years into common stocks.

Each year, we meet our clients on an individual basis so we can define their financial goals and offer practical advice that will help them achieve these goals. We have the required experience and knowledge to answer most financial questions that clients ask us. We also offer a free analysis service for retirees, which allows those clients who wish to do so to follow the evolution of their portfolio and identify measures to put in place to make the most of their retirement when the time comes.

We can also evaluate the portfolio of any investor who would like to have a second opinion on how their wealth is currently being managed.

Once the required forms are signed, Medici transfers all the documents to the National Bank (NBIN). Although the NBIN is responsible for transfering your funds into your new accounts, our team makes sure that your assets are transferred with the correct quantity and at the correct price. You can also oversee these transfers at any time by viewing your portfolio online during this process. We communicate with new clients on a regular basis to inform them of how the transfers are taking place.

Our clients can view their online portfolio at any time and at no additional cost by accessing the “Client Login” section of our website. Every day, our system is updated with data from the National Bank so you can see all the information you need to keep track of your portfolio. For example, you can access a global view of your portfolio that combines every account, a calculation of the total unrealized gains and losses, and a daily summary of the performance of each securitiy (including dividends and interest received). Online and on demand, you can access portfolio statements that are easy to read. You will also receive an account statement from the National Bank every month.

We communicate with all our clients regularly. We meet for an individual portfolio review every year, we write a quarterly letter, and we also share some of our media appearances throughout the year. We publish short videos about our investment strategies that can be viewed on our website and on our social media pages. Clients can also easily reach us by phone, by email, or in person at our offices. We take pride in our team’s availability, and it’s important to us that clients can have an honest conversation with one of our portfolio managers whenever they feel the need. As opposed to many others in the finance sector, all our communication tools are prepared in-house, which means they address real concerns that are relevant to our clients.

Discover how to invest with Medici

More details

FAQ

Questions fréquentes

Gestion de Portefeuille Stratégique Medici est inscrite auprès de l’Autorité des marchés financiers à titre de gestionnaire de portefeuille et de gestionnaire de fonds d’investissement, de même que ses représentants. Sa principale responsabilité est de composer un portefeuille de qualité conformément à votre objectif de rendement et votre seuil de tolérance au risque.

Dans le cadre de ses activités, Medici s’engage également à respecter le Code d’Éthique et Normes de Conduite professionnelle du CFA Institute qui stipule entre autres que nous devons placer l’intégrité de la profession et les intérêts des clients avant les intérêts de Medici, ses gestionnaires ou ses employés.

La Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant (BNRI), une filiale en propriété exclusive indirecte de la Banque Nationale du Canada, est partenaire de Medici à titre de fiduciaire et administrateur de votre portefeuille. Par conséquent, vos comptes sont ouverts chez BNRI et vous seul pouvez retirer l’argent qui s’y trouve. Les gestionnaires de Medici ont l’autorisation d’acheter et de vendre des titres pour vous, selon le mandat établi, mais n’ont pas le contrôle sur les sommes ajoutées ou retirées à chacun de vos comptes.

Œuvrant au sein de l’industrie des services financiers depuis plus de 25 ans, Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant est l’un des principaux fournisseurs canadiens en solutions de garde, de courtage, de compensation, de règlement et de tenue de dossiers au Canada auprès des courtiers remisiers, des gestionnaires de portefeuille inscrits indépendants et des gestionnaires des fonds d’investissements. Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant dessert actuellement plus de 400 firmes d’un océan à l’autre et peut compter sur la solidité financière de la Banque Nationale du Canada (BNC). Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant est une division de Financière Banque Nationale inc. (FBN inc.) une filiale en propriété exclusive indirecte de la BNC, une société ouverte inscrite à la Bourse de Toronto (NA : TSX). Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant est également une marque de commerce enregistrée de la BNC utilisée par FBN inc. FBN inc. est membre du Fonds canadien de protection des épargnants (FCPE) et est également membre de et assujettie à l’Organisme canadien de réglementation du commerce des valeurs mobilières (OCRCVM), l’organisme d’autoréglementation national de surveillance de tous les courtiers en valeurs mobilières et toutes les activités de négociation sur les marchés de titres de dette et d’actions au Canada.

Medici gère les portefeuilles de ses clients en mode discrétionnaire. Cela signifie que lors d’une rencontre initiale, nous nous entendons avec vous sur un Énoncé de Politique de Placement (ÉPP) que notre équipe s’engage à suivre et à tenir à jour tout au long de notre relation d’affaires. Nos décisions d’investissements sont ensuite prises en fonction de l’ÉPP.

En aucun cas nous ne sommes tenus de contacter nos clients pour obtenir une autorisation préalable à chaque transaction. Ainsi, nous agissons en toute imputabilité. Pour la même raison qu’un ingénieur ne demanderait pas à son client si la poutre qu’il utilise est assez résistante pour la construction d’un édifice, nous considérons que nous sommes les personnes les mieux placées pour prendre les décisions de gestion de votre portefeuille.

Cette façon de faire vient avec une responsabilité, celle d’agir en toute transparence et honnêteté avec notre clientèle. Par conséquent, nos gestionnaires s’assurent de communiquer notre stratégie et nos décisions régulièrement par le biais de nos rencontres individuelles, nos lettres trimestrielles, nos capsules vidéo et nos apparitions médiatiques régulières. À défaut de décider eux-mêmes du contenu du portefeuille, nous remettons à nos clients tous les outils nécessaires pour évaluer la qualité de notre travail.

Nos frais sont basés sur un pourcentage de l’actif géré. Le taux déterminé varie en fonction de la taille de votre portefeuille. Nous vous invitons à nous contacter pour en savoir plus.

Puisque nous agissons à la fois comme conseiller financier et gestionnaire de portefeuille et offrons un vrai service de gestion privée, nos frais sont beaucoup plus faibles que ce qui est généralement payé par un investisseur qui possède des fonds communs de placement.

Nous ne prélevons aucune commission de transaction ni commission de suivi. Medici ne charge aucun frais d’entrée ou frais de sortie. En somme, il n’y a aucuns frais cachés. Nos seuls honoraires sont payés mensuellement et en toute transparence puisqu’ils sont inscrits directement à votre relevé de placement. Chaque année, un rapport de frais et un rapport de rendement vous sont remis, vous permettant de comparer les frais que vous avez payé avec la valeur-ajoutée que nous vous offrons.

Nos clients nous confient en moyenne plus de 1 000 000$. Nous acceptons des épargnants qui disposent d’un minimum de 500 000$ ou qui sont en phase d’accumulation de capital. Nous vous invitons à nous contacter pour savoir si vous êtes admissible. Nous évaluerons votre situation, nous vous expliquerons nos facteurs d’adhésion et nous vous ferons une proposition en cas d’admissibilité.

Gestion de Portefeuille Stratégique Medici a une des grandes banques canadiennes à titre de fiduciaire (Banque Nationale Réseau Indépendant) et ce afin de sécuriser les comptes de chaque client. En retenant Medici pour la gestion de votre portefeuille, vous obtenez donc les mêmes dispositifs de sécurité qu’avec n’importe quelle grande institution financière canadienne.

Nombreuses sont les grandes institutions financières qui agissent sous un standard de convenance. Cela signifie qu’il ne leur est pas obligatoire d’agir dans le meilleur intérêt de leurs clients. Cette pratique tend à favoriser l’atteinte d’objectifs financiers à court terme pour l’institution au détriment de l’intérêt du client.

En retenant Medici pour la gestion de vos avoirs, vous faites affaire avec une équipe de professionnels qui agissent sous un standard de fiduciaire plutôt qu’avec le standard de convenance des grandes institutions financières. Cela signifie que nous agissons sous l’obligation de faire passer vos intérêts avant ceux de la firme ou de nos gestionnaires. Puisque nous ne vendons aucun produit, que nous investissons personnellement dans les mêmes entreprises que vous et que notre rémunération est basée uniquement sur un pourcentage de vos actifs, nos intérêts sont intimement alignés.

Oui. En plus de gérer tous les comptes d’un individu, nous pouvons gérer l’ensemble d’un portefeuille familial (conjoint et enfants). Nous gérons également les comptes d’entreprises pour les entrepreneurs, travailleurs autonomes, les médecins et autres dirigeants.

Nos clients plus âgés apprécient les rencontres individuelles avec leurs enfants et leur conjoint(e). Cela leur permet d’inculquer des notions d’épargne et d’investissement à leur famille tout en assurant une stabilité dans la gestion de leur patrimoine au moment de leur succession.

Notre équipe regroupe cinq gestionnaires de portefeuille, deux conseillers et quelques assistants à la gestion et l’administration. Nos gestionnaires effectuent leurs propres recherches et analyses par écrit et les soumettent à notre comité d’investissement qui révise les opportunités sur une base hebdomadaire. Nous vous invitons à consulter notre section «Découvrir qui nous sommes» en pied de page pour plus d’informations.

Dans le déploiement de notre stratégie d’investissement dans les actions, nous sélectionnons des entreprises profitables et dotées d’avantages concurrentiels importants. La majorité des entreprises dans lesquelles nous investissons ont un endettement faible, voire nul. Nos entreprises sont sélectionnées dans la perspective qu’elles doivent être en mesure de résister aux inévitables crises et récessions.

Nous affichons sur notre site internet les rendements moyens obtenus par nos clients qui détiennent un portefeuille géré à 100% en actions de sociétés cotées en bourse. Tout dépendant de votre profil d’investisseur, il est possible qu’une répartition d’actifs à 100% en actions ne soit pas appropriée. C’est aussi le cas d’une bonne partie de notre clientèle qui détient à la fois des actions et des titres à revenu fixe. En retenant Medici pour la gestion de votre portefeuille, vous entrez en relation avec des professionnels qui prendront le temps d’évaluer votre tolérance au risque et déterminer la répartition d’actifs qui convient le mieux à votre situation personnelle.

À titre indicatif et conformément à nos facteurs d’adhésion, nos gestionnaires ont généralement l’habitude de ne pas investir en actions des sommes d’argent qui devront être retirées au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Chaque année, sur une base individuelle, nous rencontrons nos clients afin de définir leurs objectifs financiers et leur offrir des conseils pratiques pour les atteindre. Nous avons l’expérience et les connaissances requises pour répondre à la plupart des questions d’ordre financier que nos clients nous posent. Nous offrons gratuitement un service d’analyse à la retraite qui permet à nos clients qui le désirent du suivre l’évolution de leur portefeuille et d’identifier les mesures à mettre en place pour bénéficier au maximum de leur retraite.

Nous offrons également un service d’évaluation de portefeuille à tout épargnant qui aimerait obtenir une seconde opinion sur la qualité de la gestion de son portefeuille actuel.

Une fois les formulaires signés, Medici s’occupe de transmettre tous les documents à la Banque Nationale (BNRI). Bien que BNRI soit responsable du transfert de vos placements, notre équipe s’assure que vos actifs sont transférés dans vos nouveaux comptes à la bonne quantité et au bon prix. Vous êtes également en mesure de constater l’avancement des transferts en consultant votre portefeuille en ligne durant le processus. Tout au long de la procédure, nous communiquons régulièrement avec vous le statut d’avancement des transferts.

Nos clients peuvent accéder gratuitement en tout temps à leur portefeuille en ligne à partir de la rubrique «Accès client» de notre site internet. Notre système recueille quotidiennement les données de la Banque Nationale et vous affiche un ensemble d’informations qui vous sont très utiles pour faire le suivi du portefeuille. Par exemple, vous obtenez une vue globale du portefeuille sans égard aux comptes, un calcul des rendements du portefeuille et un suivi quotidien de la performance de chacune des positions (incluant les dividendes et les intérêts reçus). Vous avez accès en ligne et sur demande à des relevés de gestion de portefeuille compréhensibles. Vous recevrez également, à chaque mois, les relevés de compte de la Banque Nationale.

Nous communiquons régulièrement avec tous nos clients. Nos outils de communications incluent une revue de portefeuille individuelle effectuée chaque année, l’envoi de nos lettres trimestrielles, la mise sur pied de capsules vidéo, de multiples publications médiatiques et la possibilité de nous joindre par téléphone, par courriel ou en personne à nos bureaux. Notre équipe est facilement accessible. Nous sommes fiers de permettre à notre clientèle de discuter sans détour avec un de nos gestionnaires lorsqu’ils en sentent le besoin. Contrairement à de nombreux joueurs de l’industrie financière, nous préparons nous-mêmes nos communications. Cette pratique nous permet de mieux répondre aux besoins et enjeux précis de notre clientèle.

Découvrez comment investir avec Medici

En savoir plus